“Something’s Coming” – West Side Story

15 Apr

“I got a feeling there’s a miracle due, gonna come true, coming to me!”

Four months ago, I was given the goal to make it to 36 weeks in my pregnancy so that my twins had the best chance of surviving and leaving the womb pretty much “cooked.”  I prayed for this to come true but was always worried that they would have different plans and arrive prematurely.  Each week that went by became a new milestone and celebration because their chances for being healthy kept rising and the threat of staying in the NICU kept falling.  I was also questioning whether or not my petite body could withstand two babies continuing to grow inside of me, but week by week my belly expanded without hesitation.  Since I have miraculously met this goal, the final countdown to parenthood has officially begun.

Now that my “graduation” is so close I can taste it, I can’t help but think what I will actually miss about living in the hospital.  This whole experience is not something I would choose for myself or anyone for that matter, but there are some aspects that will be hard to say goodbye to.  Other than the obvious superficial things like not having to cook, clean, or lift a finger, the saddest part of leaving is saying goodbye to all of the nurses that have become my new family.  I literally spent more time with them throughout my stay then with my family and friends since the nurses were taking care of me for the duration of their long, 12 hour shifts.  When I felt lonely, they were there and I really got to know them well in between medicine distribution, checking my vital signs, performing the fetal non-stress tests, etc.  I definitely plan on keeping in touch with my nurses and bringing the twins by for a visit when we are in the area.

The other women on bed rest that I have met while in the hospital have also played a big role in keeping me sane during this time.  The large amount of encouragement and good vibes has been some of the best medicine I have received while being here.  Plans have already been made to meet up with our babies to keep our little “sorority” going outside of the Facebook group and hospital walls.  Some of the Moms have delivered since I have been here and after I leave, there will be even more on their way to “graduating” themselves.  I also plan on continuing to maintain the Facebook group for all of the future bed rest Moms that will move-in after I have left.  The nurses know how to direct new patients to the group and I look forward to watching the amount of members expand for as long as it can last.  One big question I keep thinking about is who will be the next to inhabit room 2524 and more importantly, who will receive the magical sunflower?  I can definitely attest to its powers having become the next Mom that has successfully reached the coveted 36 week mark.

So the anticipation and excitement has really started to build because I could go into labor at any time now and there will be no need to try to stop it with heavy duty drugs.  If I end up not going into labor on my own, then the doctor will just schedule the c-section this week or the next.  My husband will start to pack up my things and take the decorations off of the wall as we prepare for the birth and the much awaited move to the postpartum section of the maternity ward.  It is very strange to finally be at the end of my pregnancy journey after spending so many days in waiting that seemed to last forever.  Now with time flying by, Brett and I are trying to think of everything that needs to be in place so that we are as prepared as possible once we take that car ride home and permanently leave The BirthPlace.  I remember the last car ride we took together was filled with fear as we raced to the hospital after that fateful 19 week ultrasound appointment.  What a difference 17 weeks makes where instead of fear and worry, our car will be filled with joy, elation, and of course two beautiful babies.

*The song “Something’s Coming” is from the 1957 Broadway musical West Side Story which is a musical adaptation of Shakespeare’s Romeo and Juliet set in 1950’s New York City. The main character Tony, is singing about his future and the exciting possibilities that might await him at the dance that night.  He ends up being right because he meets the love of his life, Maria and both of their lives are forever changed.  I am so happy that in my world, the “something” that is coming are my twins which will forever change the lives of Brett and myself.  We completely appreciate all of the love and support throughout these past four months from everyone that has reached out in our time of need.  It is obvious that all of the prayers and well wishes have worked and our dream of becoming a family will come true before the end of April!  “There’s something due any day…”

20120415-160321.jpg

The magical sunflower worked!

9 Responses to ““Something’s Coming” – West Side Story”

  1. Joyce Stein April 15, 2012 at 6:43 pm #

    You look awesome and you are an inspiration!

  2. Paul April 15, 2012 at 10:44 pm #

    A beautiful retrospective, filled with hope for all the long term bedrest women who are still at the BirthPlace, whatever city or town they may be living in. May all who read your post take great strength and courage, and become empowered to “go the distance” knowing they are never alone, there is a unique sisterhood sorority and most importantly, being able to have an absolutely positive outlook for themselves, their baby(ies) and husband or spouse. Bravo Jessica! TOD

  3. Grace April 16, 2012 at 1:40 pm #

    I am so happy to hear the good news that your twins are almost here! 🙂 good luck and now labor vibes coming your way!

  4. Wendy Shuken April 16, 2012 at 1:52 pm #

    A lovely photo, a lovely message from you, and wonderful news. we send you our love to you and Brett and will be thinking of you during these next few weeks!
    Bob and Wendy

  5. Judith April 16, 2012 at 6:38 pm #

    Jess and Brett – your positive and can-do attitudes have been exemplary during the past months. I can see your excitement at the thought of finally meeting “the kids” growing daily – we are right there with you! Looking forward to the opening of the next chapter in the life of this familiy and to the beginning of your lives as parents of the well-loved (already) and patiently awaited Ziggies! xx TOM-J

    • Carol April 18, 2012 at 8:10 pm #

      Congratulations Jessica. I’ve been following your blogs since january and is so happy you’ve gone this far. I was a bedrest mom since 14 weeks due to incompetent cervix. My cervix was only 8mm since week 20. I gave birth to a beautiful baby girl on Feb 10, 2012 @ 36w3d. She is 2 months now and she’s the best thing that ever happened to me. She is God’s perfect miracle.

      • jfisher April 18, 2012 at 11:29 pm #

        Thanks so much! You are very lucky that you also got to 36 weeks. I never thought it would happen and it is so reassuring that all of this bed rest has worked so well.

  6. Amy@fiancemeetingyouhere April 20, 2012 at 2:19 pm #

    WOW! I’m originally from Ventura, so my mom had sent me the article you were in and I was amazed. Turns out one of my best friends works with Dr. Tasch so I knew you were in good hands. I was so curious to know how you were doing. I just caught your post on the IC support group board on babycenter. I am just thrilled for you. I lost my daughter last year to incompetent cervix after 10 days of bedrest at 23 weeks. I’m pregnant again with cerclage and so far so good. I’m so glad I found your blog. Congrats!!!!

  7. Sarah April 23, 2012 at 10:26 am #

    Congratulations jessica! Your blog has inspired me during some dark times.

    I am on day 39 of hospital bedrest having gone into preterm labor at 25 weeks. I am dilated one inch with NO cervical length to speak of. They call it “non-functional.”

    Today I am 30.4……..every day is a mountain to climb (sound of music, anyone?) and every day we add feels like a miraculously lucky roll of the dice (guys and dolls?).

    Wishing you and all of the other moms out there another day, week, month.

    Thank you from a stranger in New York. Good thing you moved back, hospital sounds nicer in CA.

    Good luck

Leave a comment